Presenting My Interests with Negative Space

Clearing My Youtube Watch Later

I'm coming up on a year of having this blog... Hooray! To celebrate, I intended to really clean house on my To Do folder (it has balooned again), in honor of why I made this blog in the first place. However, I started with a Yesterweb (rip) Zine, and that ended up with me falling down a ton of rabbit holes and adding more bookmarks!

So that plan was out.

Instead, I went through my YouTube Watch Later list. I store so much on this list. I have deeply considered just deleting all of it before. (I am still considering that.)

Rather than spending hours and hours and hours watching the videos I want to watch, I decided to clean up the list by removing the videos I have no intention of watching. I think this list presents a neat view of my interests, but from the negative space. I don't say which videos get to stay on the list, but you do know what didn't make the cut. It creates a fascinating imaginary space that you'll have to fill in for yourself.

Here we go:

Start: 478 videos at 7:59pm

This is genuinely supremely difficult. I do want to see all these videos. But there are only so many hours in the day, and I only have but so much interest (a wonderful/frustrating conundrum).

Drawing Ourselves: Being Black in Animation TAGTUBE -The Animation Guild Local 839 1:30:37

this playlist will make you feel like a 19th century villain ultravclet 20M views 2 years ago 1:15:30

iirc, I started this, but it didn't hit

Mark Fisher - Capitalist Realism and Hauntology Intellectual Deep Web 52K views 3 years ago 5:16:34

I fully do not remember why I wanted to watch this one. It seems interesting from the title, but not over five hours interesting.

Music Theory and White Supremacy Adam Neely 2.4M views 2 years ago 44:02

Zendaya & MJ Rodriguez - Actors on Actors - Full Conversation Variety 326K views 3 years ago 1:08:03

I don't know almost any of either of these actors' work. I've seen MJ in a bootleg of Little Shop of Horrors, and she was pretty good in it.

Gladiators - fighting to entertain the mob Lindybeige 1.6M views 3 years ago 1:50:02

I gotta really trust you to watch a two hour video no questions asked, and idk this YouTube.

alternative songs to take a break from whatever you're listening now (maybe it'll help u)/ playlist hasoyi 13M views 3 years ago 2:02:10



30-Minute Hip-Hop Fit Workout POPSUGAR Fitness 12M views 4 years ago 31:05

I actually work out at a gym with a personal trainer now! Maybe if I move away, I'll pick this back up.

Great Impractical Ideas in Computer Science: PowerPoint Programming Tom Wildenhain 1.8M views 3 years ago 51:32

This legitimately sounds fascinating, but not an hour long fascinating. I think my brother sent this to me; sorry dude!

A Brief History of Puppetry - Byrne Power: A Lecture with Slides Gravity From Above 14K views 6 years ago 1:33:43

I should probably watch this one. I have some of this knowhow from my childhood and then my studies, but it never hurts to know more.

Amiri Baraka (1934-2014): Poet-Playwright-Activist Who Shaped Revolutionary Politics, Black Culture Democracy Now! 63K views 9 years ago 47:24

Removed this one in favor of an interview with the man himself. His plays break my brain a little bit - I studied him in college - so hearing him talk about his own work is something I look forward to.

Avner the Eccentric's napkin eating number: www.AvnerTheEccentric.com Avner Eisenberg 1.6M views 12 years ago 5:10

This is so short, I'm just gonna watch it. Eccentric performance is entrancing and everyone I know who practices the craft is a brilliant performer with a more brilliant mind.

You slowly realize you weren't meant to save the world, you were meant to destroy it Ivoryyy 4.6M views 2 years ago 1:04:20

I'm not the biggest fan of narrative styled playlists. I'd rather have a theme.

Colorscripts Walkthrough with Eusong Lee LightBox Expo 519 views 1 year ago 1:46:15

I only have so many hours in the day.

From Script to Screen: Demystifying the Creative Process TAGTUBE -The Animation Guild Local 839 882 views 1 year ago 57:01

Though this does look informative and interesting, I have had enough one on one or small group mentorships that I consider my mystification satisfactorily de-'d.

Composition for Noobs | Beginner Guide Flow Studio 927K views 3 years ago 18:34

I'm not really a composition noob. More of a composition intermediate.

The Professional Pen: Lessons On Screenwriting - Shannan E Johnson [FULL INTERVIEW] Film Courage 51K views 2 years ago 2:03:40

I've actually already watched this! Not sure if I finished it, but everything I did watch was a banger. All of Johnson's advice is really helpful and she speaks to some real minutiae of Hollywood which is great. Really recommend this video. (I know I watched it because I left a thumbs up on it!)

Prison Abolition || Anansi's Book Club Anansi's Library 4K views 2 years ago 38:40

I want to actually read the Angela Davis book before I watch/listen to someone analyze it. (An audiobook version of the book actually stayed on the list!)

Interactive writing portfolios - creating interactive portfolios Writers' Guild of Great Britain 703 views 2 years ago 1:29:17

I don't think this one is actually all that useful to me.

Interactive Storytelling - Intro to Twine Mighty Coconut 147K views 4 years ago 7:00

Again, looks a bit too basic for my needs. (Also, after taking some workshops teaching Twine, I've found I don't like using it very much!)

[independent animation MV] Living in a world without magic Euluca Lab.//ユルーカ研究所 3.5M views 1 year ago 7:17

Another video that's so hilariously short that I may as well just watch it. Gonna give this one a go, but removing it from the list all the same.

Little Shop of Horrors Outtake Reel (with Frank Oz Commentary) The Little Shop Archive 2K views 10 months ago 8:46

Again, so short I should just watch it. Shoutout to The Little Shop Archive for preserving so much media around and of one of my very favorite musicals.

EDIT: having watched it, the actor who has the bit part of asking about that strange and unusual plant does such a great job at being a real weirdo. Look at that person's performance, it is awesome. I think Ellen Green is so lovely, what a great performance. And this video also made me really want to get onto a set. I haven't yet, but I really want to!

r/AmITheA**hole SMACKDOWN (feat. Pat Gill) SnapCube 164K views 10 months ago 35:09

I'd bet money my brother has already seen this. I'll give it a shot, it looks fun, and I like both SnapCube and Pat. UPDATE: This ended up being a very strange mashup of wrestling game and AITA questions... Very funny that the wrong people kept winning though.

Harvard CS50 - Full Computer Science University Course freeCodeCamp.org 7.2M views 8 months ago 24:51:37

Okay for as useful (and funny) as this is, I simply am never going to watch it. I hope it has helped folks who want to learn computer science!

A Queer Look At Audio Books: Equitable Casting In Audiobook Narration The Help Network 40 views 8 months ago 1:49:46

On the one hand, very relevant to my interests and possible career. On the other hand, very long and I've been in similar workshops before.

Developing Pitch Bibles Dream Foundry 26 views 11 months ago 58:06

Another instance of being relatively well-versed in the subject by the time I get back around to watching a video. (Plus this one is likely more relevant to book publishing, which is not my focus.) Definitely watch Dream Foundry's videos though - their online conference is exceptional and almost the whole thing from each year has been archived on their channel.

Helping a young girl back on her feet ❤️ CLEANING FOR FREE! Aurikatariina 920K views 8 months ago 23:05

Unless I can summon this woman to help me clean I probably don't need to watch this video.

The Queer Erasure of Asexuality (A Discussion) James Somerton 366K views 7 months ago 44:36

Honestly? I don't need a bummer about a thing that directly affects me. (And I often don't enjoy Somerton's videos as much as I'd like or expect to.)

Environmental Design as Visual Storytelling: Theory and Practice GDC 25K views 11 months ago 53:00

This is immediately next to "Environment Design as Spatial Cinematography: Theory and Practice," which sounds a bit more interesting to me.

You can visibly see when I started watching Wednesday (2022) because there's a bunch of cello music followed by interviews with the cast and panels at cons.

Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney: "The Truth Reborn" the Musical (w/English Subtitles) Jovahexeon Joranvexeon 108K views 8 years ago 2:12:18

I don't really want to watch a musical in a language I don't speak. I like anime and tv in other languages, but the musical feels like a bit too much for my brain to work through at one time. Plus I kind of doubt it'll be that good as a musical...

PRACTICE 2018: Joseph White NYU Game Center 13K views 4 years ago 59:34

I have no idea what this is or who this is.

Drawclass 11/11/2022: Karina Shows You Her Comic Making Process Drawfee Extra 47K views Streamed 7 months ago 2:03:50

Do I want to watch this? Yes. Should I probably watch it? Also yes. Am I going to watch this? Almost certainly not. (I know what I need to get better at making comics is not, in fact, watching more videos... It is making comics.)

How to think like an Art Director with Maria Lee -- r/Advertising School #105 rAdvertisingSchool 21K views 3 years ago 1:06:01

I'll be honest this title/channel name looks a little cursed, and I don't think I want to come at art direction from a marketing or advertising perspective specifically.

Set Design, Film And Theatre - Why Is Production Design So Amazing? Behind Designs 66K views 3 years ago 13:14

This looks like too many topics for one tiny video and/or is too basic for my experience.

Project A - Commentary by Bey Logan Onionsan 4.9K views 5 years ago 1:41:05

Don't really want to watch/listen to commentary on a movie I have never seen. Though maybe I'll add the movie to my spreadsheet.

Hard Boiled Commentary by Bey Logan G15 Extra Stuff 4.2K views 1 year ago 2:08:04

Same as above.

Documentary About I am Cuba Merge Page 12K views 9 years ago 11:47

Same as above. (Though I have heard Soy Cuba is incredible.)

when you're paid to copy another director's style CinemaStix 577K 6 months ago 9:15

CinemaStix doesn't make bad videos (nor do they make particularly notable ones either), but I hate their naming conventions. Makes everything sound like a weird TikTok and gives me very little idea of the actual subject of the video.

when the actor and the writer are the same person CinemaStix 723K views 7 months ago 7:03

YouTube thinks I've watched this already. I don't remember.

Wingnut Dishwashers Union - Burn the Earth! Leave it Behind! (full album) Victor Aidan 1.1M views 11 years ago 29:16

This album is sick, give it a listen. (I forgot to delete this from the list when I listened to it.)

Taking a break! 9:17pm

Back at 9:59pm

Herbs for HensTM: Marigolds Lisa Steele | Fresh Eggs Daily(R) 11K views 8 years ago 2:24

I have no idea why, but this sat on my Bookmarks Toolbar for literal years, labelled as 'inspiration.' I vaguely remember it being some kind of devised theatre idea, but truly I have no idea what that may have been anymore.

Beginners Guide To Screenwriting - Shannan E. Johnson [FULL INTERVIEW] Film Courage 51K views 1 year ago 1:53:35

I'll have to see if this is a podcast anywhere, or maybe come back to this when I get really into Minecraft or Stardew again. I'm a pretty decent screenwriter, so I don't feel the need to watch a basics video. I do wonder why Johnson got to have a period on E in this one and not the last one.

21 Ways To Structure A Screenplay [WRITING MASTERCLASS] Film Courage 32K views 9 months ago 2:13:04

Eh, meh. (Hilariously, this video starts with Shannan E. Johnson, but there is a mix of speakers.)

How To Develop A Story World - Houston Howard Film Courage 37K views 4 years ago 30:16 https://youtu.be/z9LXfNUDK9Q

Becorns Episode 3: Orioles vs Catbirds David M Bird 1.7M views 7 months ago 11:41

These little dudes are adorable.

ENA Day 2023 Livestream Joel G 387K views Streamed 4 months ago 2:04:15

If you haven't watched the ENA animated shorts, you should watch the ENA animated shorts. They're stellar.

chaotic academic vibe: playlist R'music 228K views 4 months ago 38:08

I think this showed up on the list twice somehow...

Crowd Replication Hollywood Camera Work 320K views 8 years ago 13:44

My favorite part of this video is it feels like an internal training video but was definitely made for public consumption. It's stilted and weird and does technically deliver information. (I did not finish this video and do not plan on finishing this video.)

A Public Dialogue Between bell hooks and Cornel West The New School 437K views 8 years ago 1:27:02

I want to get more familiar with hooks's work, but I am not familiar with West.

aint I a woman bell hooks Christie Malry Audiobooks 803 views 7 months ago 7:32:41

I'd prefer to read this book rather than listen to it.

Drawing Monsters Based On Vibes (Sponsored Stream) Drawfee Extra 131K views 3 months ago 2:02:20

Eh, I'm gonna stick with regular drawfee episodes.

Art, Furries, God Patricia Taxxon 261K views 11 months ago 24:12

I listen to some of Taxxon's music, but I can't say I am that interested in this trifecta of subjects in a Venn diagram.

Sound Tech: Learning, Geeking Out, and Sharing Strategies for Recording Dream Foundry 29 views 1 year ago 47:35

I'm making a podcast with friends, but I'm not going to go super hard on the tech for this.

Measuring Podcasting Success Dream Foundry 19 views 1 year ago 50:14

Once again, our podcast: we're mostly making it so we can have published portfolio pieces. If it exists, it is a success.

The Power of the Narrative Podcast Dream Foundry 34 views 5 months ago 54:21

I suspect this is a celebration of podcasts rather than a guide. (I don't actually listen to any narrative podcasts!)

Michael R. Jackson & the company of WHITE GIRL IN DANGER play 10 Seconds To Plot Theatrely 841 views 3 months ago 4:28

I've watched this vid. (This musical was phenomenal. I hope it gets another production.)

What Is White Girl in Danger? Second Stage Theater 1.3K views 7 months ago 0:46

This one is less than a minute I'm just going to watch it.

Pedro Pascal Cries From His Head While Eating Spicy Wings | Hot Ones First We Feast 14M views 3 months ago 26:11

I have never seen anything this man has made, I'm good.

Private Prisons: The Most Evil Industry in America Ciggy Snake 10K views 10 months ago 13:20

uhhhhh yeah agreed

The Two Cuts of the Community Pilot Sam McGee 462K views 3 months ago 10:39

I've never seen this show.

Adam Savage Learns How Fragile Rock's Doozers Are Built Adam Savage's Tested 147K views 2 months 14:49

Ranking Things 100% Perfectly (And No One Gets Upset) Drawfee Extra 166K views 2 months ago 2:00:55

I watched this, it was fun.

Climate Games: The Developer's Field Guide GDC 6.4K views 2 months ago 29:59

...nah

Painting in Clip Studio Paint for the first time! Devin Elle Kurtz 60K views 2 months ago 16:09

I have too many CSP tutorials on this list, and I don't paint, so this one is out.

Tiny Desk Contest Top Shelf 2023: Episode 2 NPR Music 17K views Streamed 2 months ago 48:21

This is probably music, that's fine.

The Many Layers of Glass Onion - Movies with Mikey FilmJoy 83K views 2 months ago 33:54

I could've sworn I've watched this already... Movies with Mikey is fantastic.

OOP never mind! I wanted to watch the other movie he references first! So I gotta do that before I finish this video!

What Cop Shows get WRONG about FENTANYL Skip Intro 335K views 2 months ago 53:52

This is probably a very good video, but I saw some of it over my brother's shoulder, and I don't think I need to watch it.

I played these Potion Making Games in my quest for the Ultimate Potion Game DoshDoshington 501K views 2 months ago 37:16

Not sure why this even got on the list. I guess I'll give it a try. Update: I did not like the sound of this person's voice, so I'm not gonna watch it.

In Defense of Disney's Strange Solarpunk World Pop Culture Detective 264K views 2 months ago 16:11

I've watched this video. I hated this movie - more so that I was offended at its blandness rather than it being categorically bad in any way - but this video brought me around on appreciating its existence a bit. (Which is a feat in and of itself.)

Chill Beats for Worldbuilding and Writing Tale Foundry 2.2M views 1 year ago 1:00:14

Eh.

The Key to Writing Freakishly Good Dialogue | Video Essay LocalScriptMan 945K views 2 months ago 19:29

Once again, meh.

The Churchill cult is out of control: Tariq Ali on Winston Churchill Verso Books 75K views 1 year ago 26:59

I am never going to watch this.

Let This Radicalize You Virtual Book Launch Haymarket Books 2.3K views Streamed 1 month ago 1:39:49

I do want to read this book, but I don't have to watch this stream.

We Watched Twilight Before This Stream Drawfee Extra 106K views 1 month ago 2:00:37

Devolver Direct: The Return of Volvy DevolverDigital 274K views 3 weeks ago 22:26

huh?

Night in the Woods: an adorable existential nightmare Therm 69K views 2 weeks ago 5:27:48

I have not finished this game, and I'm certainly not watching a video this long on a game I haven't even played for that amount of time.

Breaking Into Games: Game Designer Work With Indies 218 views 2 weeks ago 1:04:24

Breaking Into Games: Community Manager Work With Indies 25 views 3 weeks ago 1:07:11

How I made a 3D GAME in Desmos Graphing Calculator Radian628 211K views 9 months ago 12:15

Ratatousical!!! (FULL VERSIOIN) Nomi Brooklyn 23K views 2 years ago 56:47

I don't want to watch this...

And that's what I've got!

End: 10:49pm, with a grand total of... 401 videos

This post is one I would have loved to have markdown for...

Updated July 24th so the links were clickable instead of just written out