I really really wanted to love Barbie - the Greta Gerwig 2023 Margot Robbie vehicle.

I think Margot Robbie herself was absolutely stellar as the titular Barbie. She brought a lot of heart and humanity to a character that could otherwise be really frustrating or unsympathetic if handled poorly. Her portrayal touched my heart and made me laugh. I knew I was going to love the sets - and I did - even though we spent more time in the real world and in closeups than I was hoping for.

The script, however, was all over the place. They started so incredibly strong with the core concept of a Barbie doll having an existential crisis - what's better than that??! - and then... There were four other, considerably weaker and underdeveloped plots. I wouldn't have minded more from the teen daughter or a more nuanced take (or C plot) of patriarchy-loving Ken. The fact that we lost the existential crisis for slogan-heavy plot spaghetti was such a disappointment. (That and the tried and true issue of the "defeat one dude and defeat [insert giant societal ill here]" plotline that never ceases to irk me.) I could do without Will Farrel (as is my feeling in most movies with him in it, unfortunately) and even without Kate McKinnon, and the mom's victorious moment fell flat for me.

I really really wanted to love this movie, and all I can say about it is I'm glad it exists and that it was fun. Which, honestly? Isn't the worst review. Maybe I'll go watch something else with Margot Robbie - I haven't seen much of her work before this.