I feel like I just did something quietly revolutionary for my life.

Earlier this year, I hired someone to come evaluate and help form an action plan to get my yard back in order - it is years overgrown. He came in, very kindly said the overgrowth and invasive species overtaking it was not our fault, and laid out some steps. One of them, for the huge, puffy boxwood, was to cut giant, silly holes into it, to promote internal leaf growth. That way we will be able to cut it back more in the near future and shape it for years to come.

Since I've been sick, I've been going through my "to do" bookmarks folder. That is ostencibly what this blog is for. I've read some articles, watched some videos, listened to some music. Did all the little bits and bobs... I went from 1,800+ links to 1,400+ links.

And just now, I had a thought.

I'm near-sighted. Have been since 1st grade. So I took my glasses off, squinted my eyes, scrolled down the "to do" list, selected a couple dozen links... and hit delete. And they were gone. I have no idea what they were.

And I did it again.

In a few short moments, I am now sub-1,000 links. And I feel no great loss. Earlier today, I read an article on how some industries and people still rely on paper, and how there does appear to be a cognitive connection between memory and physical, paper words. I have no major memory of the 400-some links I just got rid of, but I also feel no major loss at having lost them either.

I am going to cut holes into this digital boxwood I have grown, to let the light in, and promote future growth.